Create your website from scratch , free web Design Tutorials for newbies

Tutorials on creating Your Website From Scratch using Wordpress

Updating of WordPress Rendered Easy

In technology, there is only one factor that remains constant and it is that of an upgrade. Irrespective of whichever platform you might be using, it is bound to become outdated within months of having been released only to have been replaced by a newer and supposedly better version. Although the introduction of a latest version does not imply that it is mandatory for all users to replace the older program but doing so is strongly recommended since it is likely to work in your favor.

Content Management System (CMS) is an area wherein upgrading of a platform is probably the most frequent and it is with the intention of countering the ensuing instability that WordPress has provided a provision under its Admin section. Users who depend on 2.7.x version of WordPress for posting blogs and making websites have the advantage of being informed via notification posted in the admin area whenever a new version is launched.

Upgrading could be automatic or manual but prior to opting for a method, you must take a backup of your existing WordPress. Once that is done, following are the ways by which you can upgrade the platform –

Automatic upgrade –

On the admin page, there is a box which reads ‘Please Upgrade Now’. When you click on this box, the next screen which comes up presents you with two options for upgrading, namely automatic and manual. All you need to do is click on ‘Upgrade Automatically’ and a few minutes later the latest version of the platform will have been successfully installed.

Manual Upgrade –

Before commencing the manual upgrading process, you would need to go through the backup tutorial of WordPress on how to create a backup of the entire database that is inclusive of tables, files and .htaccess. The next step entails moving on to the plug-in management page and deactivating all the plug-ins. This is done bearing in mind the fact that all plug-ins may not be compatible with the new version with the result that after the upgrade the installed platform would feature several broken ends. Deactivation is done to avoid this discrepancy and restoration subsequent to installation is always possible.

Manual upgrading calls for overwriting the files in the next step and there are two ways in which this stage can be handled, namely either upload the latest WordPress version to the directory while preserving the existing themes or delete all the old files and replace them with the new version. As a suggestion, complete delete is always preferable to overwriting since it ensures a complete overhaul of the system and hence no loose ends.

No sooner than the upgrade is complete that the upgrade page appears listing out a set of instructions that need to be followed. Having followed all the instructions, it is time to activate plug-ins and check whether they are working as expected. If not, then the situation calls for deactivating the plug-in in question, upgrading it and installing it back again.